My day with Day Murry Music

So I got up this morning with a mission. I was going to find some really great classical pieces to work on this summer. Yea, I know the summer is already under full swing, better late then never! First I drive all over town trying to find a place that sells karaoke for classical music. Let me tell you, they don’t exhist. There is a serious lacking of karaoke places in Orem, UT. I went to FYE, nothing. I went to Walmart, nothing. I went to Target, nothing. I was getting totally discouraged. Until I drove by Day Murry Music on state street. I quickly pulled into the lot (probably breaking a few laws  because I was on the wrong side of the road), and went inside.

Now I work in a book store, a really large chain bookstore, and we have a term for people who don’t know the author or title of a book but expect us to be able to pluck it out of their heads and find the book. ANNOYING! But once I got into Day Murry Music, I realized I was that person. I couldn’t remember the name of the song, the composer, only who had sung it.

I walk around for a while trying to remember when an employee came over to me and asked if I needed any help, as any good employee would do for a woman who was obviously lost.

“Your going to kill me, but I’m looking for a song and I don’t remember the title or the composer.” I told me. He was very kind and said okay, do you know anything about it? ” Well, I know Sissel has sung it, Hayley Westenra, Sarah Brightman. It’s very famous, and it’s very short. But everyone knows it.” He nodded and thought for a second then reached over right in front of me and handed me a sheet of music for O Mio Babbino Caro by Puccini. I felt my face go red, how embarrassing!

I about died!

“Thank you so much! I can’t believe you found it!” I was very excited because this piece of music has a special place in my heart.

This guy at Day Murry was amazing! I feel like I’m being a spokesperson for Day Murry, but I had such a great time there that I can’t help but gush. He helped me find a few other things and even got a transposed version of Nessa Dorma and a great book of High Soprano solos including O Divine Redeemer.

So that was my day at Day Murry Music. LOVE THEM!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dad
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 15:14:36

    Some things are just ment to be…

    Reply

  2. Janelle Cerar
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 15:23:03

    You are just SOOO cute! Don’t you just love it when we have shopping days like that?

    Reply

  3. Trevor White
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 01:37:14

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so glad you are singing again!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

